Awards & Honours


The MSS Association  Awards & Honours program is designed to honour  teachers both past and present  for their contribution to Education and the development of the youths on Montserrat . As an organization, we are a group of past and present students, who have  benefited and continue to benefit from the education we had at MSS. As a result, we deem it necessary  to honour the remarkable teachers  of MSS for a stellar job. 

Why we do this? Our future of Montserrat is embedded in the proper education of our youths. MSS Association fully supports all Teachers on the island that take the time to make a lasting imprint on our youths minds. 

The 2010 honourees were: Mr. Sylvester Browne, Mr. Peter White, Ms. Yvonne Weeks,  Mr Alric Taylor, Ms Mignon  Moses, Mrs Dorothy Greenaway, Ms Jeanelda Howson and Mrs Josephine Payne.

The 2012 Honourees were: Ms. Rachael Colis, Mrs. Anne Cassell, Mrs. Jennifer Michael, Mrs. Patricia Ryan, Mrs. Camile Watts,  and  Mr. Charles T. John. 

This year MSS Association will be presenting the award at the Funky Man Awards December 29th, 2014. 


1. Nominations will be accepted until September 15th, 2014. 

2. A committee of 5-7 individuals that includes MSS Association board members, teacher/educator representative and current/recent graduates from the Montserrat Secondary School will be formed to narrow down to a semi-finalist list of 4-6 Teachers by September 15th, 2014.

3. The list will be released to the public for detailed assessments to be completed by October 1st, 2014. These scores and comments will be assessed by the committee by November 15th, 2014.

4. The final vote of 5 Teachers (for Teacher of the Year ONLY) begins October 1st through December 15th. A small donation ($1-$5) is required for the final vote. Net proceeds will be presented to the Award winner with the most votes.